How long should I keep FOs

Forrest

I always went by smell and color both stand alone & in products.  Some oils seemed to keep forever while others turned after 6 months.  Some darkened so much they would affect my undyed wax.   If you can't tell, have others smell, some people can tell immediately if something is off.

• Like 3

Some of my FO's are 8-10 years old and are still good. I've had very few that have turned bad. Like kandlekrazy said, go by the smell. And a few do turn dark after several years.

I would be in deep trouble if fragrance oils only stayed good for a year!

• Like 5

I have ones that are 15 yrs old and still wonderful. Once in a great while I will get one that goes bad but that is the exception rather than the general rule. If it smells good and you like it, keep it and don't be afraid to use it. Suppliers pretty much have to say "one year" to avoid lawsuits over that one that might go bad in 6 months. I've been using FO's since 2005 and had only 2 in all that time I had to throw out cause they went bad on me. 

• Like 2

57 minutes ago, Candybee said:

I have ones that are 15 yrs old and still wonderful. Once in a great while I will get one that goes bad but that is the exception rather than the general rule. If it smells good and you like it, keep it and don't be afraid to use it. Suppliers pretty much have to say "one year" to avoid lawsuits over that one that might go bad in 6 months. I've been using FO's since 2005 and had only 2 in all that time I had to throw out cause they went bad on me. 

The only ones I’ve had go off were vanilla / vanillin types or brands that diluted with soy bean oil. 

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...