I am just starting to make candles with the hopes of selling them eventually. I am in the process of determining what kind/s of wax to use. I have solely been working with different types of soy wax up to this point. However, there seems to be some benefits from other types of wax (i.e. parrafin and palm). When I research some of my favorite candle companies (Archipelago, Voluspa, Capri Blue, Paddywax, Nest, etc.) they all appear to use a blend of waxes and not just soy. I would like to be "environmentally friendly" and create a "clean" candle but not necessarily at the expense of scent throw and quality. My questions are...

Has anyone found selling candles with palm or parrafin wax harder to sell to consumers?

Do customers seem to care what wax you use when you are selling them at craft fairs or wholesale to stores?

I would appreciate any insight people may have!

Edited by KaylaN

I've been making candles for the past 3 years (as a serious hobby and I have one retail customer) and I finally switched from 100% soy to IGI 6006 blend.  I haven't had anyone walk away from my candles because they aren't 100% soy; I also don't use any dye which people either like or they don't.    I found that the unpredictability of soy made candle making frustrating for me and I found myself crossing my fingers every time I poured a batch.  I use clear 11 oz tumblers for my candles so I do heat them prior to pouring to avoid wet spots as much as possible and yes, I still cross my fingers.  Occasionally a candle or two will provide some frustration but I just set those aside for my personal use.  You will find what works best for you and that journey is what it's all about.  Be patient.

• Like 1

There are people dead set in what they "think" they want in a candle 

they want soy, they want coconut, they refuse palm, they refuse paraffin, they like paraffin, they like palm or they just don't care so long as it smells good and burns good