Centered wicks

I am having difficulty getting my wicks centered consistently.  I’ve been testing waxes, wicks and fragrances for the last two years and this is my last remaining hurdle.  I’m using a wick setter, but about half the time the wicks are off center.  What am I doing wrong?

• Like 1

If you aren't running a production line, this will help.

Set your jar on a white piece of cardboard (will last longer) or paper. Draw a circle around the jar and make a vertical and horizontal line. Where they intersect is the middle. 

When you are ready to wick your jars, place on the circle and set your wick over the 'X'. This will work for see through vessels only.

I have a template for each size jar I make. I made my templates from white tiles purchased at Menards.

Edited by Soy-N-Suds
  • Like 3

10 hours ago, mrsposey said:

I am having difficulty getting my wicks centered consistently.  I’ve been testing waxes, wicks and fragrances for the last two years and this is my last remaining hurdle.  I’m using a wick setter, but about half the time the wicks are off center.  What am I doing wrong?

I love the E-Z Wick Setter Tools and they get my wicks centered. I have a single wick tool and one that can do double or triple wicks. The only time my wicks get off center is if they are not very stiff and start to lean in the melt pool. Does the tool have a snug fit on your jars or is there some play? That could do it. You can make custom lid attachments for it if needed. If the plastic jar insert piece doesn't fit a particular jar I'm using then I get a wood lid that fits that jar, drill a hole or holes in the wood lid and then assemble the E-Z Wick Setter pieces with the custom size wooden lid. Works great and my wicks are always centered no matter which jar I use.

https://cart.candlesupply.com/EZ-Wick-Setter-Multi-pr-20003.html

https://www.lonestarcandlesupply.com/candle-making-equipment.html

Edited by Laura C
  • Like 1

4 hours ago, TallTayl said: