what kind of wax do you use?

I am just starting out and noticed everyone seems to have a preference. I just want to get an idea of what others use. I know it will take me a while to find one for me. I want highly fragerenced candles. I love having my home smell amazing!

I keep seeing waxs on here but I don't understand all the numbers and letters in them. Thanks for everyones help thus far. This site has helped me so much already!!

Sherri

You didn't mention if you want to do free-standing (pillars, votives, tapers) or container candles. Do you want to use paraffin, soy, or a blend? Unfortunately you really are going to have to just buy small samples of what you think you may like after doing a lot of reading on this board. (Don't rush out and buy tons of waxes first - take the time to research and see what people like and don't like about each - also looking in the gallery can be of help because you can see the possibilities).

Here is a link to a very good thread that a member did comparing four container waxes: http://www.candletech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17483

A good matrix for just one company is at http://www.igiwax.com/downloads/EZPour%20Product%20Comparison%20020206.pdf Many suppliers also have their own blends.

I'm sure many people will chime in with favorites of their own. For containers I use (at the moment) a soy/paraffin blend because its easy to clean out the containers afterwards and combines the best of both worlds IMO, but I use beeswax for most pillars and tapers, and also paraffin for pillars because of its versatility when I want a certain decorative look.

HTH a little.

I use the same wax that Von uses, J-50..anyone who ever bought a candle from me just love them, but I am going to test JS123, its coming Monday. Also new fo...that has a lot to do with your candles scent also. Gotta try all kinds of FO's. I never dreamed I would spend so much money on this hobby, but I love it! :D