Hello all new to site.

Thanks Breanna for the welcome...I live in southeastern Minnesota with my husband, 3 cats and 3 horses. I started making candles a few months ago as a creative outlet and possible small business in the future. I have learned a lot since finding this board. Everyone here is so helpful. :smiley2:

Hello all:

I am also new to the site. My name is Daira (pronounced DIE-ra). I used to design web sites for 9 years and provided web hosting and domain name services for 2 years (so if you have any computer or web related questions, I'd be happy to help out). I currently work in tech support and am almost finished with my Master's in Manangement Information Systems.

Anyway, I have been reading about candlemaking recently. A coworker's office smelled great and discovered that she was using an Er'go soy candle called Papaya. I had bought candles in the past, but could not stand the smell or it would make me cough/sneeze/get headaches. But with this candle, it didn't! This led me to investigate and learn more about candles and candle making. I find this craft interesting and it looks like fun! :grin2: I have never made a candle before, but I look forward to learning more about it.

There is SO much information online, that it's tricky to start out. I even went to a book store and read about candle making there too. If anyone could point me in the right direction as to where to begin, and what "proper" and/or best tools that are needed, that would be great.

Is candlemaking something I can do in my apartment or would I need a shed or warehouse to do? Just wondering, thanks! :)

I would like to make candles for myself (and possibly for a small side income in the future) if I can do it right. I am interested in making 100% soy wax candles, if possible, because paraffin or regular candles give me allergy symptoms. :)

Welcome to the board newbies!