Ever had perfectly good and tested candles start tunneling suddenly?

Hello all. I'm a new candle maker and I've been making and selling candles for about 3 months. I was able to find the perfect wick for my candles and I've done a lot of test burns, sold some candles, and given away some candles all to people close to me. So I've been able to ask people how well their candles are burning and even observe the candles myself. My candles have always burned wonderfully with no tunneling but now I'm noticing some of my candles are tunneling. The only way to fix is to trim the wick longer.
I can't seem to find an obvious correlation between these couple of troublesome candles other than it's possible one of the 5 pound bags of candle wax I was using was bad or it's the sudden cold weather. Since I wasn't keeping lot numbers (which I am going to start doing today!) I can't say for sure what the source of the problem is. I don't really see any strong correlation between wicks, fragrance bottles, fragrance types, a specific batch, cure times (14 days - 6 weeks) and I'm not even 100% certain that it was a bad bag of wax that was the source of the problem.

Whatever the issue is, I think I might try using a slightly hotter wick from now on (CD-24) to make up for any random variables.

Anyone else ever experience a case like this where seemingly random candles suddenly go rouge?

My candles: Freedom Soy Wax / 8 oz candle w/3 inch diameter glass jar / ECO-16 wick / 14 days or longer cure time / 10% fragrance load

Possible cause for tunneling is hidden sinkholes in wax. I had a wax blend that was hunky dory, then I got a bad batch of wax and crater galore. So when candle was lit there was tunneling.

3 months is not long to test.

Been testing for years :)

Other people will chime in. It takes a long time to know waxes, wick and fragrances, additives. 

Technique going from a couple candles to more.

• Like 3