Over/under wicked?

I have a lot of knowledge that I gained from reading this board, but there is no substitute for experience, and sometimes I need help from those with the experience I lack. The 8oz tin has 6006 with a 51 zinc and NG Vanilla Champagne, it had been burning three hours. I’m thinking that I need to up wick this one, probably due to the Vanilla. The jar is four hours into the second burn test, it has 6006 with no FO and a CD10. I tested had this with a CD6 and after four hours I had a very small flame and a 2 inch MP. I’m thinking this looks over wicked and I may need to retry the CD6 and trim my wick a little longer. What do you think?

IMG_1742.thumb.jpg.82bfadd3c435b18fc039c7c390619cef.jpgIMG_1741.thumb.jpg.7128aa0ea5a24af815a257d05a32ec0e.jpg

Is the last half of the jar that makes all the difference. That shape of jar could be over or under wicked as it continues. The only way to know is to burn it to the end.

Some of mine that I swear are under wicked in the first half are way over wicked in the last half.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Well, it's so hard to tell looking down on that tin Forest instead of looking through glass walls....but I would burn that all the way to the end.   It could look underwicked now, but as you know the further down it burns the more it's going to catch up.   For example  the other day I burned a 8oz tin that I used to use cd 12's, then went to 10's and now I can't believe that now the tin takes an 8!.....Mine looked just like yours does now.....Now the throw....well, I wasn't impressed....still need to test some more.