Calling all M & P experts

katshe

Please share your method of melting your soap base that works best for you.

I am heating mine in the microwave in a large glass bowl chunked up first of course..and have a time getting it to totally melt and stay melted...i am heating about 35 ounces at a time and it always seems to have lumps in it and gets gooey and hardens up in the middle ugh!

I'm not an expert but here goes. I melt mine in 30 second bursts and after each time i take the soap out and stir the soap. When the soap is almost done.....only a few lumps left, I take the soap out and stir til the lumps are all gone. I usually have time to work with it before it starts to set up. Maybe if you are just heating without stirring it might be getting to hot.....just a thought. Hope this helps.

Sheli

I use a presto to heat my m&p. I used to use a microwave until I got the presto. Heat for a little longer, (try 10 to 15 second bursts) until it stays liquid for you. Sounds like it is cooling before your ready to pour it in the mold.

Do you have a thermometer? Check with the manufacture of you m&p on the highest temp. you can get your m&p before its too hot. THat way you can take a reading to see if it can go a little hotter to keep it liquid for you too.

Edited by rebeccajo99

It just means you need to keep heating your base when you still have chunks.

All microwaves are different so heating is going to vary. For me, I have a small micro and put my soap chunks in a large glass pyrex measuring bowl/cup and heat in bursts of 50 seconds. Take out, stir, and repeat. For 2 lbs (32 oz) or more it takes a couple minutes or so of heat bursts. Plus, stirring in between bursts will tell you if you have any chunks left. Keep heating until there are no more lumps. Be sure you always cover your melting bowl with saran wrap when melting in the microwave to keep it from drying out.