Soap question

Scented

1- no

2- obviously any animal-lol. The only animal oil I use and forget about sometimes is Emu Oil (which I luv luv luv). I have now contained Emu Oil to two bars I make. I'll add in there too- soaps made w/ differ animal milk and beewax.

Well I'm trying to figure out why would someone care if there's 0 transfat oils used. Like I hope they aren't eating the soap. I can't imagine it could have an alternate affect. I could be wrong, but it was out in left field where we weren't.

BTW last year we spent some time explaining that the emu wasn't killed strictly for its oil and that it wasn't killed inhumanely as far as we knew etc.

And I guess we got one of those ... "does this have lye in it?" peeps and well yeah, it does or you can't have soap.

I could see the emu oil because its killing the animal for that as well as other parts (meats. etc).

BUT what blew me away was the beeswax and milk. I'm not a bee expert but as far as I know death isn't involved w/ wax OR w/ differ animal milks :confused: . I'm very uneducated in this realm, maybe a vegan here can explain this.

I thought it was just animal products in general, not animals that were killed or injured for product. Beeswax is made by bees, milk from cows or goats, etc.

It's my understanding that it isn't vegan if it's in the same box as non vegan soaps, etc. They can co-mingle. A vegan will drop a bar of soap made with lard like it's on fire. They don't even want to touch anything tainted with animal.

A vegan will not eat any animal product, even if the animal was not harmed.

A vegeterian will eat anima products, ie cheese, milk etc. but not if the animal was harmed in the process.

My friend is vegeterian and explained the difference to me.

OK a new one. For those who sell your soaps, have you ever been asked if your soap contains 0 Trans Fat?

Two-part question actually ... what other oils besides say lard, crisco type stuff do vegans stay away from?