1st time soaping

cas

I posted this in a different forum, but for those of you not over there:

I did make my first batch of CP soap last night. It was fun, and I can see how it would be addicting.

I took a few photos, and need to pull them off the camera.

What to do next time that I did not do this time:

* Try CP without the water reduction. I think that is why it seized so quickly.

* Pick a better scent to use. I used Juniper, and from what I have been told by a few people, is not the best FO to use for CP.

* Make more than 1 lb at a time. I only made 1 lb. I didn't know better. LOL So for now on, I think I will do min of 2 lbs, and most likely 3.

I have some things to get through today, but if I can get all my tools run in the dishwasher, I will try another batch tonight. This time, with a better FO and 3 lbs of soap. icon_biggrin.gif

Congratulations on taking the plunge into soapmaking.

I have only done two batches (cp and cphp), so I'm not an expert. My scale weighs in grams, so I used grams instead of ozs to make for a more accurate weights. My batches were 500g each. I wasn't sure what I would do if my first batches were 2 lbs each - my family is afraid of my stuff because of the lye. I tested a small bar of each soap, and it's actually soap. :D

I didn't use fo. I'm not sure how the soap should act yet. For example, the mashed potatoe phase was a mystery to me on cphp and the soap ended up being overcooked.

I want my next batch to be hp, but the only cookware I have is teflon or aluminum.

I wouldnt make more than 2lbs at a time since you are still starting out and you will most likley make a few more batches that you are not happy with until you get it right. Its best to conserve your oils and lye for small test batches. I currently make 2lb batches and yeild 8 bars. Which is made up of 25oz of oils plus 7oz water. (i do 33% lye solution).

Anyhow, welcome to the wonder world of soaping and I hope to see many photos of your creations soon.