Which wick would work?

Absolute beginner here. My tapered glass container is 4.25 in. across the top and reduces to about 2.5 in. near the bottom. I plan to use Golden Brands 464 soy. I have HTP 105 and HTP 93 wicks. I plan to use two HTP 93 wicks since each will create a wax pool of approximately 2 inches ( I think). This may work near the top, but I wonder how effectively it will be as it burns down. Any thoughts would really be appreciated. Thanks.

That is one of the most challenging types of containers to wick. If you wick for the top your candle will be a fireball at the bottom. 

General rule of thumb is to wick for the last 1/3 of the candle. 

I would be inclined to single wick just because it is so narrow at the bottom. 

The easiest container I have ever found to wick has straight sides and is about 2.5” wide.  Not sure why this is the ultimate dimension, but it is. Might not be bad to grab some to get some early wins before jumping into a hard to wick jar. 😉

• Like 1

This jar measures about 4 1/8 at the top and about 2 1/8 at the burn bottom. 4 1/8 high. That is a HTP-105 sitting in the jar. I should start with simple projects. Oh no, not me. I have to jump in the deep end and overthink everything! 😣

• Haha 1

You really did pick a tough jar for a beginner....I don't even know myself.  The bottom of that jar is a votive size pretty much.   A 105 and 93 definitely are not going to get a melt pool across the top of that jar.   It's going to be tunneling....but I would test it anyway right up to the end even with a tunnel as maybe the wax will catch up.   But then there is the possibility if you get anywhere close to 1/2 to the edges in your melt pool that the wick is going to drown out.   All you can do is test. Let us know how it goes.   I'm very curious myself.   Do you hae another style jar picked out ??    What fragrance oil did you go with and what percentage of oil did you use?

Trappeur

Edited by Trappeur