Wick getting drowned *help*

Help! Candle making newbie here so please excuse any ignorance!!! 

Made my first candle last night, long thin glass container. It's burning beautifully to start with. All the way to the edges etc. Then the flame gets smaller and smaller and gets drowned by the wax. I tried draining a little of the wax off and it burned brilliantly again for a while then the same problem. Everywhere I have looked online has only mentioned this happening when tunneling which is not the problem here. Pic attached is of when it was being made to give idea of size.  Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong please? Thank you in advance!!

DSC_1910.JPG

It will really help if you tell us what wax and wick that is. The smaller the container the harder they are to work. The taller they are relative to the width also makes them hard to wick.

That container is like a very tall very narrow votive. 

Drowning out is often an invitation of overwicking . If you’re getting to a full melt pool on the very first burn with that it’s very likely overwicked.

Yep, I agree with what TT said.   From looking at your picture the wick looks like it is too big as it looks like a very large wick as it is really thick.

Just to help a bit....cut off that length of wick the part that is left hanging above the wicker centerer.   It will help you a lot in steadying and centering the wick.

And yes, what wax and wick is that and can you give the dimentions of that small jar too?

Trappeur

• 1 month later...

Long narrow containers even for seasoned candlemakers are hard to pour wax into and get good results. 

Here is what I would do. Go to Candle Science or other candlemaking supply shops online and buy a kit.

pour tins with suggested wicks.  

If you like what made I would then suggest picking one type of glass container - make sure it’s made for candle burning.

8 ounce Mason jars are popular. You can can then work with those and different waxes and wicks.