New to candle making, have a question about wicks!

Hi, I'm new to making candles (in fact I've only made one so far!) but I've been making tarts since about last September. I want to pour some candles also and have a question about wicks. I don't really know much about which one to use. I have 6006 wax and was wanting to pour into 8oz and 16oz mason jars and tin cans and decorate with a label and homespun. Which wick would you all recommend? I have read the phrase "wicker upper" and "wick up" and I have no idea what that means.

Thanks to everyone for their input! I've been reading posts on this board for weeks and have gained so much from everyone's knowledge! I also enjoy reading your posts!

Thanks again,

Belinda

LX wicks are my "go to" wicks with 6006, but I also use Eco Htp and CD when a fragrance doesn't work.

Wick up simply means that if you commonly start with LX-16 in a certain jar that the wick usually needs to go up to a LX18 with a heavier fragrance. I usually start testing with my base wick size and go up or down from there. If I'm not pleased with scent throw or the overall burn I will repeat the test with a different wick and see if it's the LX wick or if the fragrance is at fault.

It's all about testing, lots of testing.

And I would recommend that you pick just one of those three containers to play around with first. Once you get the hang of wicking that one with different scents the others will be easier. You will drive yourself crazy testing three different containers with varying fragrances.