What Happened!!!

lsbennis

Hey everyone, I have to admit that I'm not very good at CP soap which is why I usually stick with HP. I decided to make a batch of CP yesterday using CS Beach Linen mixed with CS Clean Cotton. Here are the ingredients....

Olive Oil

Coconut Oil

Palm Oil

Sunflower Oil

Shea Butter

Castor Oil

Titanium Dioxide

NG...color

....put in wood mold and covered with towels and this is what I ended up with this morning. A huge tectonic fault line and a crackled/mottled inside *shudder* Any thoughts

are much appreciated.post-4600-139458508139_thumb.jpg

post-4600-139458508132_thumb.jpg

The cracking is caused by your FO making the soap really heat up (which you don't know will happen until you use that FO- next time, if there is one don't insulate as much). The mottling, I think, is also caused by this fragrance.....I have learned that certain FO's that really heat up will cause the titanium dioxide to do exactly what happened here. You didn't do anything wrong, just learned that you will use this fragrance again (no titanium, little if no insulation) or let it go. Hope that helps :0)

Edited by kssoaper

I have had a few loaves that mottled like that....actually fit my soap scent though...cracklin birch. I used TD in it also. The fault line is from over heating. Looks like it got way too hot in the mold. In future batches...keep a close eye on it....if it starts to heat up quick...pop it in the freezer!