38 minutes ago, Hopie said:

It looks like mottling wax...perhaps one of the true pros will come along to verify?

I am no expert but i agree with Hopie it looks like mottling wax to me as well.  I have seen alot of pillars like those online where they are using mottling wax.  I can't be 100% sure tho as i don't use paraffin wax, I only use palm.

• Like 1

I've been playing with mottling wax for a few months now, and Pam W. was kind enough to tell me that rubbing the outside of the metal mold with ICE will give you the rustic look I was after. She was SPOT ON! Thank you, Pam W. for the tips! :)

I wick the mold, then place it in the freezer until the wax is melted...add dye then FO...then take mold out of freezer and pour the wax at about 150-160 degrees. After letting my first layer set a bit, I'd pour my second layer, then rub ice cubes on the outside the molds (very carefully). Lovely, rustic finish when unmolded. A few of them I did are in the Old Style Candle Gallery if you wan to see the effect I got.

I hope this helps? :)

OH, and here is a link I found right here on Craftserver, I would LOVE to get these STUNNING effects one day...I'll keep on pouring until I can create these beauties!! http://www.craftserver.com/topic/3041-frosty-layer-pillars/?tab=comments#comment-33957  :drool::drool:

• Thanks 2

5 hours ago, Lizzy said:

looks like cold pour rustics to me...freeze your pillar molds, pour 1/4 way when wax is ready, slush wax around in pillar molds a bit, then finish your pour. 

This is exactly what it looks like to me as well. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 7/17/2018 at 9:53 PM, Scented said:

It looks like rustic to me and those are made pouring cool into cold molds. 

Scented is right on this.......pouring cool into the cooled molds will give you that effect.  And if you do not get the end results that you are looking for..........nothing is lost, i.e., remelt and repour......kwim

• Thanks 1

11 minutes ago, Pam W said: