Thoughts on Palm wax???

I'm new to candle making and have been using Soy but have been having a hard time getting good results especially with votives and jars. I like the idea of using Soy because it supports Americas farmers..on the other hand I was thinking of Palm Wax also and was wondering if that may be an easier wax to work with. Can anyone give some input on this??

Hate to be a downer, but the production of soy wax does almost nothing to help the American farmer ... the majority of our soy wax actually contributes the destruction of the Rain Forest ... but in all fairness, so does palm wax. Sorry, but I poured soy for 7 yrs & really can't stand all the rah-rah marketing bs & inflated claims that goes with it. I just opened my box of palm wax & hope to start testing tomorrow, so I can't offer a comparison, but I've been researching palm for a year & am really excited to give it a go. I just got tired of battling soy & never got the ht I wanted. I'll keep you posted w/ a 'newbies' opinion.

Susan.

The farmers I want to support are the farmers who grow real food that I can buy in the produce section.

The farmers who grow fodder for factory production lines are doing fine by all accounts, and you are already supporting them through the purchase of countless products. You are also supporting the corporations and workers who process the crops and produce the products. No worries.

I wish there was a candle I could make to support the "real food" growers, but there isn't. Candlemaking, however, is a worthwhile passion in its own right. It doesn't require or particularly benefit from choosing ones materials for a "cause."

You're going to scare the girl, Top. Give her your thoughts on palm wax.

Susan.

OK gotcha.

It's good sh*t.

I like the pillar stuff, but haven't tried the container palm yet. I'm looking forward to it though.