What do you charge for 8oz Jars??

pjm

I think I have finally begun making jar candles that I am satisfied with (I'm pretty picky). It costs me around $3 to make each jar (shipping charges kill me :( ) Anyway, how do you figure what you should charge. Since I'm just starting out, I don't want to charge too much, but I want it to be worth my time.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

I have no problem getting $8.00 for my 8 oz jelly jars. I don't ship so that would be just what price is for my local customers. Becareful to take into consideration all your charges. The wax, the dye, the wick, the jar, the lid, the label and the shipping charges that it took to get the raw products to your house.

I charge $5.00 and that is cheap but what others charge in this area.Some less.I do not pay shipping for the jars but like one piece lids so buy those on-line.So it does also depend on the area you live too.

Sure wish I could get more.

LynnS

Shipping is a killer for me too. I live in the middle of nowhere and the only thing I am able to get locally is the jar. The general guideline for pricing is to take your cost and multiply it by 3 or 4. But you also have to consider what others are charging for a similar item so as not to price yourself out of the market. I've seen 8 oz jars being sold for anywhere between $4.50 and $9.95. Mine are $6 each although I reduce it to $5 if they buy more than 2.

Now I *know* I need to raise my prices. I charge $4.00 for 8oz and $8.00 for 16oz. This price includes my "chunk" jar candles!

WOW!!! only $8.00 for a 16oz. You must be buying your supplies by the truck load to sell a 16oz for that price.

I sell my 16oz apoth. for $12-16 according to the quanity bought.

For my 16 ounce mason jar I sell for $8.00 but if a apothecary it would have to be $11.00-12.00.I "had" those shipped and also the jar costs more.The 16 ounce mason I get at a wholesale place near me and believe me those jars are about the same cost as the 8 ounce JJ.