I'm so confused about Fragrance Oil!

Hi everyone. Okay, this is probably a very stupid question but I'm new to candle making. My first question is how much fragrance oil should I use for one pound of soy wax (some people suggested 7%?). Second, how does one measure the 7% of fragrance oil? do you measure it in a tablespoon (...is it 7% of a one ounce fragrance bottle) I'm so confused. Thanks everyone for your help!:smiley2:

well I use 8% sometimes 8.5% all depends on the FO and how much your wax will hold. I measure it out on a digital scale in a little disposable dixie cup then toss the cup away so that is one less clean up when I go from FO to FO.

Guest meredean

I'll try to explain it tooo.lol like I usually use 10% so if I'm going to have 16oz of wax I do 16x 0.10 which =1.6oz so if you want 7% and you are using 16oz of wax it would go like this 16x0.07=1.12oz so however much wax ur using you x's that by the % you want. Atleast thats how I do it and everything has been fine..lol Hope to of helped alittle

Take Care,

Meredith

My first question is how much fragrance oil should I use for one pound of soy wax
Check the specs for your wax first. Different waxes are formulated to hold differing amounts of FO.
Second, how does one measure the 7% of fragrance oil? do you measure it in a tablespoon
You do not measure ingredients for candles in terms of VOLUME (tablespoons, teaspoons, cups, fluid ounces, gallons, etc.), you measure in terms of WEIGHT (pounds, ounces, grams, kilos, tons, etc.). I use a graduated glass bartender's measuring glass. I set it on my scale, tare, then add the amount of FO that I need. For example, if I am using 1 oz. per pound of FO (roughly 6.25%), and I am mixing a two pound batch, for every pound of wax, I add 1 weighed ounce of FO. Because different FOs weigh different amounts, it is important to accurately weigh the ingredients and not rely upon liquid measure.