Labeling Lotions

Sherl

I just use one label. The print is rather smallish for the ingredients, but I've seen labeling B&BW uses on some of their products and you practically need a magnifying glass to read them.

I used to use 2 labels, but it was just too much trouble trying to place both labels evenly on the bottle or jar, and then trying to make sure all bottles or jars were identical. Plus, it was more expensive.

It depends on the product. For my lotions I only use one label. For my shea butters and sugar scrubs I use 2 labels, but I'm in the process of going to one round label on the lid. Anything I can do to reduce cost and reduce time and energy spent is always helpful.

Ann M

As a consumer, I like two lables. I want the visual effect of a nice product. Maybe in a way I think of ingredients on the front as screaming 'im home made'... some like that though. I'm still new to this stuff, and my personal preference is an overall professional....clean look.

As a crafter, I realize all the extra work and cost! But I think labeling is a big first impression kind of thing so I'm leaning towards the two when I start selling. But only if I settle on a quick and easy design that will fit, I don't have to cut myself, lines up, etc.

So far, on my balms: I do like Bunny...I cut my own so I simply add a smaller same length rectangle that sits up against the top or bottom of the part that is the front label and it wraps around... one cut one adhesion.

My long term goal is that if I have similar products or ingredients in a product- I'd like to have some basic ingredient labels made up already and it will be the look of the front /packaging that I only need to differentiate. I don't see any problem with making your ingredients as itty bitty as necessary though if you want to put them on front. Most will not and do not really care what is in it, and for those that do, then they are used to having to look harder, lol. JMHO.