Smelt Co.

Im new to the candle making community and I am so excited about my brand. 

I wanted to ask advice from more experienced candle makers. What was your biggest challenge starting out with candle making. I think mine is probably finding the perfect pour temperature and avoiding air bubbles. Im learning that so many waxes perform differently. B0E0BA9E-6B38-49EE-997F-6C2DAB600371.jpgF8D0EDED-E78A-423A-B813-148D3B6BDB56.jpg028F1D0A-16DB-467F-A29B-F6D1C70DD1E4.jpg

3 hours ago, NightLight said:

Hate to say this looks like a promotion or ad rather than getting information from the community.

Yup.  I'm also questioning the marketing choice of that orange candle with the uncentered wick.

• Thumbs Up 1

1 hour ago, KrisS said:

Yup.  I'm also questioning the marketing choice of that orange candle with the uncentered wick.

Self promo fixed. Both The orange and the blue are far from centered. That will likely present some burn issues.

• Like 2

10 hours ago, TallTayl said:

Self promo fixed. Both The orange and the blue are far from centered. That will likely present some burn issues.

Ha. I didn't make it to the blue one. That one was bad too.

• 3 weeks later...

I clicked the link and looked at the website. I had to see if they were really selling those crooked wick candles and they are for $26. It says they're sold out. That is insane. I get so upset when people do not learn how to make candles and just sell them. Candle making is an art and so many people cheapen it. 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

I'm just gonna say this... Yes, this brand does need some work and they DID ask for advice.  

Smelt - Before you start selling, I would work on centering your wicks and doing some more testing. I don't think you are quite there yet. 

Since you use Wooden Wicks I would reach to out them and see if they have tools and tips to perfect this.