Refridgeration for a cure time?

Ok, you can all laugh when you read this thread.....I have a stupid question.....doesn't hurt to ask...

I was wondering if I put some sample candles that I'm waiting for a 2 week cure in the refridgerator would that speed up the cure time?  

Would the oil be binding with the wax doing this?

Happy early Valentines day

Trappeur

• Like 1

It could. I guess it depends what you are testing. The oil blend, the wax, the wick, the jar, other. 

I am one for keeping all variables the same for testing. For instance, what if the refrigeration changed something about the oil binding, or the wax, the wick, jar adhesion or other. I would wonder (I am a super analytical thinker which can be a very bad thing) then if the next batch-not cured in the same way-would result in a different outcome. For me that would mean that I would be back testing how I always tested and it would then gain me nothing.

• Like 1

I have no experience with this but my personal and gut feeling is that it wouldn't. But again, that's just a personal guess, I actually have no idea.

However, I view candles and soap the way I view a good wine. The longer it sits and cures, the absolute better it will be.  

• Like 1

I have had many soy candles crack from being refrigerated. And it really did not speed up cure in terms of scent throw.

It "could" help solidify the innards of a larger candle for wick testing, but then again soy performs so differently over time... 

• Like 2

It never hurts to think of short cuts as long as it doesn't compromise the end product!  But, I don't feel that the temperature has as much to do with curing as the duration of time does, as I don't think anything can take the place of time in the curing process.  Your thought is a nice try though!  :)