Can someone help me???

AprilStivers

I am very new to this site and to candle making. I have been making candles for about 3 or 4 months now and I cannot seem to get a straight forward answer from anyone on how much scent to put per pound of wax? I have used 1 oz per pound and people are telling me that there is NO SCENT!!! No scent when it burns or when it is dry. Can someone please help me?

Hi April,

Welcome to the board! You will find a lot of helpful people here. Couple of questions for you. What type of wax or wax combination do you use? What is the end product--tarts? votives? containers? pillars? Where do you get your wax from? Where do you get your fo's from?

Enough questions for now!

I don't use more than 1 oz of oil per pound of wax. If you use good quality FOs, this is all you need (soy wax may need more FO though, so I am only talking about paraffin here).

Where are you buying your fragrance oils from? What kind of wax are you using? What temp. are you adding the fragrance oil?

Hey guys...sorry for not getting back sooner. I am using EZSoy...which stupid me, i bought a 50lb box of this wax. The appearance is horrible, the scent throw is horrible, and no matter what I do, I can't make the darn things look right. I have even used a mixture of scent companies, and still come out with the same verdict. I just wish I never bought so much of this soy!

I use 1 ounce FO per lb of wax and candles smell great.Even with a cold throw.I do pour at high temps and wondered if too high as I see other pour lower temps but it works so I do it. I use soy and get the FO's from the same company and all FO's are tested with soy before selling to the public. I do use about 4 companies for FO's but get 80% from the same company I get soy wax from.It is close to me.

The only scent that did not seem strong was Warm Vanilla Sugar but the French Vanilla was out of sight.So that will be my vanilla.

LynnS