My First Customer complaint

theoldehearth

I've been making soy candles for over 3 years and a father bought one of my mason jars from a farmer's market for his daughter who lives a province away. She just emailed me informing that the candle was burning fine for 10 minutes and then it just drowned out. She started digging around the wick and relighting a few times obviously making it worse and now it won't light at all.

I'm thinking of offering her a new wick with instructions and a discount for her inconvenience. Is this reasonable or should this be handled otherwise? I'm stumped why this happened in the first place as I do test all my batches. The only thing I can think of is she may have trimmed the wick too short to begin with even though I trim the all the wicks to the proper length.

What would you have done?

If this was locally I would just simply replace with a new candle but because of shipping I would be out quite a bit just for a mason jar.

It's my opinion you're going to be out quite a bit more than just shipping if you don't replace the entire candle. Just offering a customer another wick is unnacceptable IMO. Do you honestly expect her to know what do do with it?

Word of mouth is a powerful tool, use it to your advantage with excellent customer service.

Just my opinion here, but I would think maybe for the sake of good customer service sending her a new candle would be the way to go. (I say this from a customers perspective.) It'll make you look good too. If in her mind the candle is defective, she will remember this and maybe tell others. Better she feel that you did the right thing by her and fixed what she perceives to be a wrong.

How would she re-wick the candle? Wouldn't that be potentially more complicated and dangerous for her than to just send her a candle?