Martha mold newbie here

katshe

I just picked up a martha utensil mold and was wondering how much soap per section do I figure, Also m this mold seems bit larger that my m& p soaps that I have made previously.

What size are your soaps measurements and weight?

Also just picked up lye at ace hardware, It says 100 % lye and is rooto brand, sound right?

Going to dive into the cphp method this week , still a bit nervous..only thing keeping me from starting is- the right recipe for a hard bar with moisture and bubbles and also keeping cost down is the other thing.

I have read the recipe section and like Darwins and Quiet girls soap recipes.

But still wondering if a lard recipe is more what I am looking for to start with.

Any advise?

:yay:

Kathy

If you make a 7 pound (of oils) batch (I'm talking CP or HP here because I don't know melt and pour) that will fill each cavity nearly to the top. so 2.33 pounds of oils per cavity. If memory serves you cut each of these into seven bars and you will have 6 + oz mega bars. These were too big for me and my martha warped in and over heated batch so I went back to my log molds.

Bethany

I dont use my martha mold for mp only cp. Each cavity does hold about 37oz for me anyway but it depends on how you want to cut your bars. I dont fill my cavities all the way up , then i swirl and cut every 3" or so. This way the prettiest part of the swirl is on the front of my bars. I get about 7 bars from each cavity.

I am planning on doing a cphp batch soon and maynot use this martha mold as it seems too large, I would like soap to be 4oz ea so I may use my homemade log mold instead, holds 2lbs...just thought martha mold would be better for a larger batch

thanks all