too much palm causes scent loss??

Carriegsxr6

I have been using 20% palm with no issues. I have a lemon that has been curing for a week now and it is amazing! I used 1 oz pp, and I think I could have used much less. It may just depend on the fragrance. I am no expert, but I haven't had any problems with scent loss.

hmm really, so what do you use in its place? Lard or some other type of butter?

My main recipe has 7 oils (including shea) I talked to several people at the time who had similar problems with palm

My main recipe has 7 oils (including shea) I talked to several people at the time who had similar problems with palm

lol, my recipe also containes 7 oils and shea. But I am still using Palm, I wonder if I can do some more tweeking and elimintate the palm. I love Soapcalc.com

Hmmm that makes me wonder- I use 15%palm & noticed my soaps have a faint scent, not strong at all & also a kinda musty smell- I thought perhaps it was cuz I was storing them in plastic boxes. :undecided Crap that suxs I gotta lot of palm oil too..

WOW interesting topic. I use Palm at 20% in some recipes. Did this supplier give a "safe zone" % that they felt the scent wouldn't be compromised by the Palm?

:undecided I like Palm, I agree w/ Jenn it lends nice qualities to the soap.

WOW interesting topic. I use Palm at 20% in some recipes. Did this supplier give a "safe zone" % that they felt the scent wouldn't be compromised by the Palm?

:undecided I like Palm, I agree w/ Jenn it lends nice qualities to the soap.

No they didnt give me any range, they just said too much.

I use Palm at 15% and I swear some of my scents just dont last through the curing stage.

I thought I read some where on here that too much Shea Butter can cause fragrance loss as well.

• 4 years later...