Natural preservatives

Jeana

I am trying to find a 100% natural lotion to market. I have been making some that have turned out very nice, but so far my batches keep getting moldy. :( I have been trying to use some of the natural preservatives such as: Rosemary, GSE, and vitamin E. Are there any truly natural preservative that actually work?

I was keeping some of the lotion in the fridge, that did increase the shelf life. Does anyone know how long the shelf life is without preservatives in the fridge?

Can you actually sell lotion that needs to be kept in the fridge?

I am still new to the lotion business as well, and I too would like a preservative free lotion, so, if there is a more experienced lotion/soap maker out there who can correct me, please speak up. From my research, there just isn't a safe natural preserative out there. Now, I know of a soap maker who makes lotions that she uses GSE and instructs her customers to put in fridge, BUT, what scares me is

1) people don't follow instructions

2) shelf life even in fridge-you make it in say January, but don't sell until say May, you are not giving your customer a very good product shelf life (if any)

3) this particular soap associate/friend takes her product to shows, in the heat, where yuckies can grow. To me this is just a little too risky.

Now, I try to use vit. E and other goodies to help minimize the need for preservatives, but I will still use preservatives (I currently use a base, but am working on formulating my own receipes, the whole preservative thing (and $$) is what is holding me back). I just don't want to take the risk of someone getting a staph infection or something bad because of something growing in my lotion.

Anyway, that's my $.02.

KimO