For those familiar with Fragrance Buddy, WSP, and Just Scent. Do they have a "base" smell?

I'm looking into these three main suppliers and was wondering if anyone found them to have a "base" smell to them? I tried another supplier and it seems like they cut their oils with some type of soapy solvent that gave my perfumes/body sprays all the same weird soapy base smell. (I'm guessing they do this to make the oils go further). I've narrowed my list down to Fragrance Buddy, WSP, and JS. Also PFO as well. If anyone could let me know about their experience with the smell of their oils from these suppliers I would appreciate it.

Also wanted to add I'm a hobbyist and just experimenting with FO's for fun. The other FO's I ordered still worked and smell decent, they just had a weird smell to them and just want to see if I could get a more uncut/pure oil free of solvents, thanks everyone.

@Lizzy I actually just ordered a bunch from FB as I really liked their pricing! Can't wait for them to come in.

@NightLight I don't use the perfumers alcohol/spray bases a lot of the sites sell because I heard they add a lot of extra stuff to them. I use 95% ethanol (190 proof) that has no fermentation smell and no methanol, it's denatured with bitrex, but according to Basenotes that's standard and bitrex has no smell.

• Like 1

It may not be the solvent, but ingredient for fragrance formula you don’t like. I find Candle Science uses same bottom notes in may fragrances, which I don’t like. Also supplier may buy from one fragrance house that the perfumer loves a certain note and puts it in everything. There are many aroma molecule that you might pick up on but other don’t but they are use for longevity in the fragrance.

• Like 1

On 5/31/2021 at 7:30 PM, GhostHauntings said:

@Lizzy I actually just ordered a bunch from FB as I really liked their pricing! Can't wait for them to come in.