Wicking Parasoy Blends in Tins

Hello!

I'm pretty new to candle making and tried my hand at soy wax but wasn't terribly pleased with it.  I have an order in for 6006 and ProBlend 600 which I plan to pour into the 8 oz tins.  What have y'all used as far as wicks and fragrance loads that work well with these?  Any lessons learned or things you wish you'd known going in?

Thanks in advance!

Anne

Use the wick guide offered by Candle Science. They also have wick suggestions directly on the product page for each container they sell.  The recommendations for 6006 are generally accurate, and PB 600 wicks similarly, give or take a size.  You won't get a full melt pool on the first burn, and you don't want to.  6-7% FO is appropriate.  More isn't better.

• Like 2

8oz tins are literally the worst container for parasoy waxes to wick for newbies, if you're starting out then you should learn to wick something with a smaller diameter like 6oz tins or 8oz jelly jars. Pro-Blend 600 is easier to work with than 6006 because it has a lower melt point, isn't as finnicky with the temps to add FO, and generally works pretty decent with a variety of wicks like Eco, CD, HTP (which is good because right now getting hold of specific wicks can be a pain). 6006 has a better hot throw and is better for shipping in hot weather, but it requires a bit of knowledge to understand it properly, it's not as newbie friendly.