HI! I've been looking for a place like this!

lenarenee

Hello everyone!  Against my better judgment I've been dabbling in candle making off and on for a couple of years. ( I've done soap for 4 years) Soap and candles have fascinated me since childhood after visiting Lincoln's New Salem, Clayville and other historic places. Naturally my parents would never let me take up the hobby (This was the 70s in a rural community - no internet or helpful books)

because they said I'd blow up the kitchen!    Yeah well - I'm all grown up now and have internet!!

I now live near San Diego, but am one of those strange people that don't think it's paradise here; constant supply of black widow spiders, threat of wildfire,  people wear winter coats when it's 65 degrees out but most importantly - I miss having deciduous trees and four seasons. It's almost never soup or sweater weather here.  (however....I never have to chip ice off the windshield...BIG plus there!)

My job is childcare and I dearly enjoy it, but as I'm getting older am working toward Occupational Therapy assistant certification. I never married or had kids of my own - and neither fact bothers me. There's plenty of kids to love.

As the title says, I'm glad to have found you because I don't do FB but need a lot of help learning about candles. I've gained a lot of information from the soap making forum I belong to,  and hoped to find one focused on candle making and....here you are! ( I do see a couple of familiar names here that I've seen on SMF)  I've already spent several hours skimming through posts and have honed in on the type of candle I'd like to make and am excited about getting started.

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

Your story sounds an awful lot like mine-fell in love with soap and candles, finally just taking the plunge and never looking back.