What am I doing wrong here ?

Hi guys, I'm new to soy ( for containers anyway ) and I'm hoping you can shed some light on what I'm doing wrong..

i bought the GW 464 and the tops of most are on the rough side, and some have cracks near the wick / wicks. I have tried pouring a ton different temps, but I haven't poured lower than 140...should I pour lower ?

Some have smooth tops and some that were poured af the same temp as the smooth tops are kind of s mess, so there seems to be no rhyme or reason to it. 

Other than the tops, the wax looks creamy, clean, and beautiful, and the cold throw is great on most even after one day, so I would like to work with this wax :)

any suggestions or criticisms on what I could be doing wrong would be appreciated !

I use this same wax, but haven't had much roughness of surface, except perhaps on a few in which I used a heat gun and it was only around the edges for the most part that got a little coarse-looking, although it was nothing unacceptable.  If I have had any pits show up, I've gone over them lightly with a heat gun and have smoothed them out. 

What temperature are you heating your wax to before cooling it down to 140?  I was pouring at 125dF, but I find that I get a more smooth, glossy top at 140-150.

• Like 1

Glad you're getting them smoothed out :)  I use 444, which is very similar to 464, and get the most perfect tops when I wait until the wax starts to thicken and get translucent, around 100ºF.

• Like 1

Me too, like Birdcharm, to get get one pour tops pouring about 148 to give or take to maybe 150 my tops are very smooth.   It is a pouring thing you will just have to play around with and pour very slowly.

Trappeur

• Like 1

4 hours ago, Trappeur said:

Me too, like Birdcharm, to get get one pour tops pouring about 148 to give or take to maybe 150 my tops are very smooth.   It is a pouring thing you will just have to play around with and pour very slowly.

Trappeur