Lessons Learned

WanderlustSoaps

Hello All,

So although I am still very very new to the soapmaking scene I thought I would start a thread about some of the mistakes that new soapers make and the lessons learned from them.  Please add to this list with your own lessons learned and hopefully we can prevent some of these mistakes with future soapers.

1.  Base Oil Overload - Many of us do a lot of research before starting a hobby such as making soaps, and with this research you will find tons and tons of information about the various oils that can be used to make soap.  As you read about the various properties of the oils and how they affect your soap you start to create a list of oils that you just have to have cause it will make your soap the super bestest that has ever been crafted and you will instantly vault to super soapy stardom.  WRONG, start with some basic oils, ones you can get locally and cheaply.  You will be making small batches for a while and testing the waters of what and how making soap works, learn on the cheap stuff and get the good stuff later after you have some processes, recipes and some experimentation under your belt.

2.  Essential Oil Overload - Early on it is very easy to sit and think, man this smells good and that smells good, I should buy all of these essential oils and I can mix to my hearts content.  While this is not a bad idea overall EO's get expensive quickly and if you dont really know what they smell like (as an EO versus say a fragrance or plant that you like) you could end up buying lots and lots of oils that you will have around for a very long time.  In connection with this, sometimes you will see a sale, co-op, bulk rate and think yeah I should get a pound of this, only to later realize you are still making small batches and only need half to one ounce at a time, wow that pound is gonna last forever or it will sour and then your out the dough anyway.