Question about Wax and FO...

I'm a beginner at candle making and am still trying to learn all I can as I make and test candles. When it comes to adding FO to wax, I thought the general rule of thumb was 6% of FO to a pound of wax and that it should be measured by weight and not volume.

I assumed that this meant 16 oz of wax in solid form. However, I stumbled across a website that gave candle making tips and it said the 16 oz of wax should be 16 oz melted and not in solid form. It mentioned that adding 6% FO to 16 oz of solid wax is the same as adding it to 19 oz of melted wax and that 6% FO in 19 oz of wax will be too little to get a good throw.

Have I been assuming incorrectly all along and is it supposed to be measured once it's melted and not in solid form? But wouldn't it weigh the same no matter if it was solid or liquid? I guess I'm just having a brain fart this morning. I thought that was precisely why we should measure by weight in solid form, because once the wax melts the volume would increase and seem like more even though it's really not. Or have I just completely confused myself?

I guess I could just go and melt 16 oz of wax and see what it weighs once it's melted instead of bothering all of you. My brain is just off today, lol.

Guest OldGlory

16 oz of weight will be the same liquid or solid. You will lose a smidge on the sides of the vessel from which you are pouring.

When I am making candles, I dump a lot of wax into the melter, wait for it to melt, put an empty pouring pot on the scale and tare it, so it reads 0.0 oz. Then using a different pouring pot, I fill the pot on the scale to the weight I want, tare again, and add the amount of FO I want. Some people will say you can simply add the FO without taring, but I want a true reading with each measure.

Your brain isn't off. With time and experience you will recognize bad information when you see/hear it.