Testing M&P Soap

tlc

How do some of you test out your M&P soap's before you put them on the market for purchase?

How long do you test for and do you have folks that test for you?

I've had a couple of folks interested in my soaps that I did a couple of weeks ago but I shied away since I have no clue about what to do as far as that area is concerned and quite frankly I was shocked that they would want them. I wasn't trying to sell the soaps, they just saw them and said "I want one".

I was kind of wondering the same thing. I was telling a couple of ladies I know that I had made some soap, and they got all excited, and wanted some. My family and I have been using the soaps for a couple of weeks now, and now problems, so I went ahead and gave them each a soap. I told them to test on their hands first to check for any reaction, and then let me know what they think. I'll hear back from them when I see them again on Monday.

I am no expert having only started making soap about 6 months(?) ago. Hopefully some experts will chime in. That said, my 'testing' came from personal use, and sharing with a few friends. One thing I learned is don't put something 'out there' too soon - wait and see how your recipe does over time. As in, I had a batch that was just fine for use etc - but over time a couple bars on the shelf eventually changed color and looked just yucky! I know some people will buy 'just for pretty' so I'm being careful to time test my recipes before I offer them for sale. Plus, the more experience I'm getting now - the better the soaps are in performance and looks. Hope that makes sense..

About the soap that turned brown - did the fragrance have vanilla in it? That can change the color of a soap, sometimes immediately, sometimes in a few days, sometimes it takes longer. I'm told it isn't harmful, just a color change.

Hopefully I'm not telling you something you already know, but when you said you were newish, I thought I'd offer that.

Have fun!