Milk Soap Question

So, a couple of questions for those of you that make milk soaps. I have read that these soaps should be put in a slab mold instead of a loaf mold due to overheating. Is that really the case?

Ladysj, I saw that you used your silicone loaf for your buttermilk batch. Any issues?

Since milk soaps tend to heat up would it not be recommended to put these in the oven to force gel? Either in a loaf or slap mold? Just insulate well?

Thank for your any insights you have.

J

No issues what so ever This last batch did crack a little on the top but I think that's because I put it in a warm oven so will not do that next time just put in the oven no heat. The previous batches I made I didn't insulate or cover with anything & they turned out great & haven't had any of them get ash YAY HTH

Thanks for the info. I will eventually do a slab mold, but I'm still learning and experimenting. So, these little molds are a nice size. And, I have a consistent batch size while testing.

Read a tip somewhere to spray the top with 91% alcohol to help prevent ash. If I remember correctly it was for those that are put into a warm oven. Don't see why that wouldn't work if you don't tho....

You absolutely CAN make them in log and block molds. I do it all the time - even with additives that people claim you cannot, like honey. My molds are wood with 1/4 inch closed cell foam liners that can get pretty darned heated.

Just make sure you keep the mixtures cool as you make the soap. Beginning with frozen milks really helps. I posted my method on this board not too long ago.

I would not insulate immediately or try to force gel using the oven. That's a recipe for overheating and separation. I DO often insulate AFTER the initial violent chemical reactions settle down to help things SAP a little more thoroughly and quickly.

HTH