Really Stupid Question

JanetsCandles

I feel rather dense asking this, but I'm new to CP soaping and would rather not screw up the first time around.

Anyway, I measured out my box for the mold, multiplied it by .4 like the formula said. Now I went to my soap calculator and plugged in all my values to get my lye mix. Now comes the stupid question: I'm not going to overflow my molds with the extra water added to the lye to make the mix in the first place, am I? No added space needed? I really don't want to have everything set up then find out I've got too much raw soap and have to scramble to find another mold. I'm mainly wondering because the lye calculator tells me I need between 17 and 25 fl oz of water for the lye. Seems to be a big variance there.

Excuse the probably obvious question from the newbie please!

I'm glad you asked this question because I ran into the same problem when I started. What I did was use the total weight of all my oils, water, and lye to determine how much my mold would hold. It made a huge difference with the water and lye added. I had to refigure my recipe and recalculate lye and water to accommodate the total weight of the raw soap so it would all fit in my mold.

When you measure your box dimensions (l x w x h)and multiply by .4 you should have the right amount in the mold when all of the water, lye and fragrance have been added with no extra. The .4 variable used in the formula is dependent upon the water % you choose. The .4, IIRC, is the factor for "full water", the default setting on most SAP calculators.