Opinions

Hi there, so real quick, I quite making candles several years ago, I had been a candlemaker since 1999 and I had quite a few wholesale accounts etc. Anyway, long story short, 2 more kids later, (we have 5 kids total) and a move from Texas to Colorado 4 years ago, I really am determined to bring my business back.

My question is, do retailers expect natural wax now only, is paraffin out? Not to nock anyones preference, but I have been testing with soy and I personally really really loathe it, and even did back then when it came out, and want to stick with my original formulas if it wouldn't destroy my business opportunities. I also read somewhere recently that paraffin was found to be no more dangerous then soy?

I want to add I had used soy back in the day in a tumbler jar for one gift shop who wanted it, it was ezsoy, but I never loved it, although I had the wicking worked out perfectly, I never got the HT I wanted, and just had that one account, so Im still no expert on it.

I will go the natural wax route and continue to test test test if it is what is expected by gift shops, fundraisers, etc. if paraffin is truly out. I am just trying to figure out what is expected these days I guess? I just noticed there was nothing "real quick" about my question at all :shocked2: sorry about that

April H

Edited by Angelique

OMG, you said "natural wax" :shocked2: :smiley2: Look for a recent thread about that. I am a newbie to all this but have experimented with some of the soy waxes and some of the paraffin based ones. I see advantages and disadvantages to both. If I had a product line and formulas like you do, I would get those up and running again and explore the other waxes later. I think most customers want a product that performs well and will live with whatever wax you use. Any that want 100% soy can wait until you have that available. These are just my opinions based on conversations with potential customers.