Technical wax questions

Im new here and somewhat new to candle makeing. (skip to the stars for the questions toward the bottom) A little quick background. I live in rural IL on a hobby farm. Im an engineer by profession and a "crafty" type including woodworking, spinning, gardening, beekeeping etc.

My interest in candles stems from watching my mother in law which LOVES candles burn huge numbers of the crappiest quality pillar candles each holiday season. Each year a pile of dead and or "malfunctioning" candles would pile up. Knowing all it takes is to toss them in a pot and melt them down and pour them into a new shape with a new wick and instant new candle

in theory at least....

So word gets out that im "playing" with candles and now my parents contribute old candles to my supply. My dad who loves to shop at estate sales comes home with boxes of candles that he picked up for a couple of bucks....

So when takeing a bunch of random left over candle bits and melting them all together and pouring them into a mold, then adding a generic "med" wick (from michaels) its surpriseing to see how poorly the new versions burn.

SO I assume that its my wick... so i research wicks... HOLY CRAP there is a arse tone of wick types! and of course none of them seem to have any meaningful description of what makes this type different from another.

So then it gets me thinking about the wax quality. Not all candle wax is created equal...

I mentioned i was a beekeeper and therefore have access to a nearly endless supply of beeswax. (although perhaps not in massive quantities) I do know that pure beeswax candles burn really well. I also know that for years paraffin wax was standard in candles. (i was surprised to find that the majority of wax these days seems to have something to do with soy.. whatever that is?!?!?!)