Candle Businesses - getting to know you

How many of you actually have businesses? What do you do? Do you also work?

I am no where near opening a business but I want to really bad. My DH laughs at me because when a candle turns out I dance around the house singing "We're in the money... we're in the money". LOL. Although I am above 20,000 a yr income, it's not what I want. I want more.

So I was just wondering what you all do with your products. I am going to try and shoot for our County Fair this summer but not sure. Tell me a little about your candle making so I can get an idea of where to start.

I am just starting out and have wondered the same thing. Right now my family loves me!! I bring testers to hand out at our family functions. We are many in number so there are alot of events. So far this month we have something every weekend.

I am nowhere near business mode, at least not big business, but am looking toward the future and kinda want to know what to aim for.

I already got the tip about liability insurance. Any others would be great!

I have sent out e-mails to my family trying to get name ideas.... I can't even make labels yet! LOL

Happy Candle making

Danielle

Personally I don't sell too much. The first couple years I focused on testing and experimenting. I still have more testing to do that I care to think about, but the 3 x 6 round pillars and hurricanes are mostly done (like anything will ever be completely done being tested...LOL) I have boxes of other waxes, boxes of molds, boxes of soaping supplies... scrap that... half of my spare room is boxes of stuff waiting to be tested :laugh2:

This year I'm going to focus a bit more on the business side if I don't burn my brain out on the legalities :shocked2:

I have a full time job as well. It's nice because I work 3/12 hr days so I get 4 off to play in my wax, but those 3 days are Fri-Sun so it leaves out any hope of craft fairs etc...