pillar mold leaking

I'm trying to make a large pillar, 6 X 9, and the mold keeps leaking where I've put the mold sealer (around my wicks). I've tried plumber's putty, too. Is there a trick? Do I have to let the sealer/putty harden for a while before I pour? I'm not pouring hot, around 150, so it can't be leaking because it's too hot. I've only made a few smaller pillars before and have never had any leakage. Also, this is my first time using a metal mold, the kind with the base, I've only used aluminum molds before, could that be why the sealer isn't working? Do I need those rubber screw thingies? Any advice to stop the leaks? Thanks so much for any help!:)

I have found the bigger the mold the more they seem to leak. First is the mold sealer new or have you used it more than a few times? If it has been used before use new sealer only on bigger molds. I have found this works the best. Also, you may need to use more sealer than usual and spread it out further and make sure the outside is edges are sealed tight. HTH

Thanks so much for all the replies. The mold sealer I used was "new", as in I never used it on another mold, but I've had it sitting around for a few years. So, maybe it is old. And I'm going to clean the bottom of the mold with alcohol, I cleaned the inside before using it, but not the outside, so maybe that's a problem, too. I was just so excited to pour my big ol' candle. I really didn't think it'd be any different than pouring a regular one. :sad2: