Ready for some advice

Hey everyone Im totally not giving up on candles but there is a quick backstory as to why Im writing this post.

Last year I decided to make candles and bought a starter kit from Michaels that had 1 lb wax, the pouring pot, scent blocks and dye. Did as the instructions said to make votives and got no aroma. Not a problem, since I was a rookie its ok, decided to try a different scent block and bought it. I used the whole block for like a half pound of wax and got nothing (again making votives), came to the conclusion that scent blocks suck (Yaleys). So I decided why not try the liquid scent ad see if its any better and bought 2 ounces of Dozen Roses liquid scent (Yaleys). I made a triangular shaped candle (about 15 ounces in weight when solid) and used all of one bottle and almost all of the 2nd one. I decided to give it to a co-worker to try it out for scent throw and she said its great.

Now in July my wife and I were in Hershey, Pa for our anniversary and saw a candle supply store on the way there and on the way home decided to stop. I got 2 ounces of Apple and 2 ounces of Peach FO. I made a pillar candle with the machine from Candle Creations and the mold stand at 7 inches high and when melted is about 14 ounces. I used about 1.5 ounces of FO to 15 ounces of wax and got no hot throw at all.

This brings me to why I am posting now..... The mold I'm using is 7 inches tall and takes about 15 ounces of wax. I want to order everything I need from Peak's with some expertise from the masters at this site and from their personal experience what I need to do to make a good smelling candle, so here we go:

1- What type of wax is preferred for making pillar candles?

2- What type of wick is preferred for good melting?

3- What temp. is ideal to add in F.O so when burning the candle it has good scent throw?

4- Should I let the wx cool down alot after it is melted then add F.O, so when I light the candle the throw is good?