What is UP with shows?????

I have only had two so far this year, but they have both been so below what I did previously last year and the years before.

I had a show about three weeks ago. Last year and previous years I had a TON in sales. Each year had gotten progressively better since I started this show about four years ago, so I have to say I was going into this show pretty cocky. :P This year I made about 65% percent of what I did last year. That'll teach me, huh?

This past weekend I did a show where I have ALWAYS done well over $2000. I put pen to paper and this show, I made 55% of that. I know that is still decent, but totally NOT what I have been used to from this show that I have been doing for six years now.

I was not just me. All the "regulars" at both of these shows were saying how it was the same for them. There were tons of people, but if you started looking around, no one was carrying bags. I have heard similar from those I know who do other shows around the state.

I usually do mostly cash, then an equal amount of checks and CCards with the checks sometimes outweighing the CCards. For the show I did three weeks ago, I had something like 65 CCard transactions and 13 checks. My cash was at a lower ratio too. Same thing this past weekend. I guess people are living more off of cards because of gas prices? Not as much discretionary income? Who knows but I hope it changes!

I just did a show that was a bomb :( I wasn't too disappointed as it was a new show, they had never done it before. The only redeeming thing was I got noticed by this group that does a really upscale show here each year. I have never seen them advertise for vendors and they have been doing a boutique show for 20 years. They asked for some sample products last week and I got accepted in the show today--so I guess that one was not a total loss :) The other show is not till October though, so will be scouting out some more (after I told myself last year no more shows LOL).