HELP!!! Candle scents have no or very little throw.

Hi I'm new to candle making and I've done everything I've read on the subject. I use premium wax, Heat it to 180 before I ad my scent, I ad what the package tells me(I've been using the solid type scent, which might be the problem). It says that half the 3/4oz block will scent 2 lbs of wax. I've been using twice as much, still with no throw. I've been using scent and color from Yaley(Michael's Crafts sells it). Can anyone tell me where to get some oil scents that smell after the wax hardens. Mine smell great untill they harden. Also is there anything I can do to make these smell better other than remelt them and add more scent or is that what I'm going to have to do. Any websites for get smelling scent would be a real help. I also am not good with the forum shorthand so if you could spell it out for the dummy on this end!

Many thanks.

vickimcm.

My first suggestion would be to try quality fragrance oils from a supplier. On the forums there is a section dedicated just to FOs, inside there is a link of different suppliers who carry FOs as well as many other helpful things :)

Welcome to the addiction!

I've never used the Yaley things but from what I have read their not very good. So that could be one of your problems. If you go to the fragrance discription section on this board there is a sticky at the top that gives abriviation explinations and links to many sites for fo's. It's very helpful.

Yaley stuff is really expensive for what I think is a non quality item...like someone else said...get a couple of oz of a quality fragrance oil and you should see a world of difference...there's always sales going on here in the classys for one oz ers...you should try some of them..it will make a huge difference I think. Good Luck.