What are you adding to M&P

Livelovebath

Welcome to soapmaking!

I am new at making CP soap (which is but one of the reason I joined this board) but have been making M&P soap for years.

You have an amazing amount of options when working with M&P. I usually start out with a basic 'hand milled' recipe before adding anything else but you certainly dont have to. Some of my favorite things to add are:

cinnamon--1/4 tsp per 6 oz. of soap

ginger--1/8 tsp per 6 oz

chamomile--contents of one tea bag usually will do the trick

unbrewed coffee--about 1 tsp per 6 oz

There are also a bunch of fruits and vegetables that you can add but you will definitely need a preservative for those. You can also find recipes to add cornmeal, aloe, vit E, sand, witch hazel, almond and all other kinds of herbs and spices. Pick a recipe, try it out and have fun!

I put 2 ounces of shea butter in a pound of mine. You can do the same with cocoa butter also. I also use Lavender buds, oatmeal. I really do not measure them but I would say it is about a half a cup per pound. Make sure your soap is cool enough so it suspends in the soap. I made a chocolate one last night I added a heaping tablespoon of cocoa powder to 2 lbs and 2 ounces of cocoa butter. It came out great. You can also add loofah to it. Hope this helps.

I did alot of research on the web, there are tons of recipes out there. Here are some basic guidlelines that I use

Essential oils- 1 tsp. PP

Herbs finely ground- up to 1 TBSP.

Aloe gel- up to 1 TBSP

honey- up to 1 TBSP

oils(jojoba, apricot, hemp, others) 1 TBSP

oatmeal finely ground-up to 1/4 cup

powdered milk- up to 1/4 cup

clays- 1-2 tsp

Those are the basics- I have found with dried materials, like herbs or oatmeal, the finer you grind them, the more they stay suspended, let the base cool way down then stir them in.