HELP! All these fragrance oils smell like cheap candy!

Charles_

Hi! I'm pretty new to candle making, so please excuse redundancy if this has been posted 100 times. I'm trying to make my own blends vs. pre-made blends, but I'm having a lot of difficulty finding fragrance oils that smell like the ACTUAL thing they're supposed to smell like. Instead, they all smell like the cloyingly sweet candy version of their names. I've so far purchased from CandleScience, Natures Garden, Lone Star Candle Supply, Rustic Escentuals, Brambleberry, and Maple Street Candle Co.. and they all have the same issue -chemical candy smells! Here are a few examples of what I'm talking about:  Fragrance oils such as Fresh Cut Grass smells like apple-grass candy, Black Currant smells like unbearably sweet cleaning product, Vetiver smells NOTHING like actual Vetiver -same with Sandalwood, Orange Blossom, Lemon (smells like dish detergent)etc. etc. etc. So here's my question. Is there ANY fragrance oil supplier (for regular consumers ) that sells high-quality, "real" smelling fragrance oils for candlemaking? Basically I guess I'm asking for the fragrance oils to smell like their respective pure essential oils. I've purchased very high quality, natural-smelling blends that I love from WoodenWick and the like, but they're pre-mixed. Basically I just want the "real" smelling bases like Bitter Orange, Fig, Cedar, Ozone, Sandalwood, Vetiver, Cardamom, etc.etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Like 1

Welcome! I feel your pain.  Most retail available are not all that great. 

some crafters choice are nice. If you want really nice elements, you need to find a fragrance compounding lab to work with. Mins are high, but prices good for the pound.

you can use essential oils in candles. It is spendy, but worth it in many cases. Use much less EO than FO premixed for retail that are already diluted with a solvent. 

I second crafters choice - wholesale supplies plus