Soaping books

Candybee

I finally broke down and bought me some books for CP soapmaking. I have books on candlemaking and M&P but no CP even though I have been making it for several years now.

I got:

The Soapmakers Companion: A Comprehensive Guide..., by Susan Miller Cavitch

Scientific Soapmaking:The Chemistry of the Cold Process, by Kevin Dunn

and Making Natural Liquid Soaps...., by Catherine Failor

They should arrive on Tuesday. Got them off Amazon with my prime membership.

I have been teaching myself through trial and error and reading through forums like this one and others, plus blogs, magazines, etc.

I hope I got some good ones. But I do recall the first two as some of the better soapmaking books to get and read. I have read some of Dunn's writing before and always wanted to read his book.

Edited by Candybee
  • Like 2

I have all those books. Unless you have a basic understanding of liquid soap, The natural liquid soap book is awkward and confusing (even if you do have an understanding of it) She jumps around quite a lot. However, not to discourage you, there is good information in the book. 

The other 2 are good books too. 

Another good one is The Everything Soapmaking Book by Alicia Grosso - there is some good information in there. 

There are more, and I can get you a list. I also started soaping before reading any of them, but I just like having them for my library... 

I have so many soapmaking books it's ridiculous, but I'm also a bibliophile and have over 6000 books in general (2000 in ebooks, the rest physical, and yet I still buy MORE!! It's so bad!!) 

• Like 1

I was looking at the Everything Soapmaking Book. They have that at Amazon. But the 3 I got today are all I can afford for now.

I had read conflicting info on the liquid soap book so am prepared (I hope!) for incompleteness or disjointed instructions by the author. I just wish there was a liquid soap 'bible' out there that would make learning it easy.