Fragrance names

YAMS

Geez, I am full of questions today... *shudder*   Do you guys use on your candles the name that supplier uses for that specific fragrance or do you change it to your own names?    Not sure if using the same name is ethical/appropriate?  I am new to all this.   Thanks 

Its a good question and to be honest I think most people use a combination of both.

There are definitely times when its more appropriate to rename one.. if nothing else, just for creative reasons.

However... there are other times when a fragrance is so commonly known by a name and you might want your customers 

to know what it is right of the bat. 

For example... pumpkin spice is a commonly used name, or banana nut bread, or cinnamon rolls, etc.

Sometimes.. its good not to be overly clever. After all, many customers will simply want your cinnamon roll candle...

So, why make them search through your fragrances and hope they notice "Granny's Sweet Buns".   :D

Know what I mean.

• Like 2

I agree with wthomas ... sometimes a cigar is just a cigar lol ! and other times a combo of both or a clever holiday name IMHO :) 

Great questions + BTW I have those days also that Im full of questions but Im a inquisitive person by nature though : /

5 minutes ago, wthomas57 said:

Its a good question and to be honest I think most people use a combination of both.

There are definitely times when its more appropriate to rename one.. if nothing else, just for creative reasons.

However... there are other times when a fragrance is so commonly known by a name and you might want your customers 

to know what it is right of the bat. 

For example... pumpkin spice is a commonly used name, or banana nut bread, or cinnamon rolls, etc.

Sometimes.. its good not to be overly clever. After all, many customers will simply want your cinnamon roll candle...

So, why make them search through your fragrances and hope they notice "Granny's Sweet Buns".   :D

Know what I mean.

Perfect answer :)