I'm Frustrated

AnnieD

I am still learning to do melt-and-pour but feel some of the Halloween soaps I have been making are darling. I packaged up a bunch of those and some pretty rose soaps I made and took them to work to see if anyone would buy. I will put photos at the bottom of this page. I priced them at $3 each or 2 for $5. They are full size bars and bags of 5 small soaps. Did I really overprice them?

Not one person bought any. Not even any of the folks I consider "friends" who might just get one to make me feel good, LOL. I had given samples to several people a few weeks ago and they said they really liked them.

I'm really sad because I love doing this and had hoped I could make some money doing it. At least I know before going to the trouble of getting a tax ID, insurance, etc. and trying craft shows or online selling.

I still want to make soaps, but I have a very small family/friends circle. We can only use so much soap.

How can I justify buying supplies and making soaps if I can't sell them? Thanks for any input.

post-13801-139458486339_thumb.jpg

post-13801-139458486328_thumb.jpg

post-13801-139458486343_thumb.jpg

I cannot speak for everyone. I can only speak for myself when I say that in my many years of business, I have not sold a single thing to a friend. They just never buy from me. I never have a problem with a total stranger. Perhaps a friend thinks that they will CONTANTLY be obligated to buy from me. Who knows? I have quite never figured this out, and it honestly isn't all that important.

Your prices seem too LOW to me. Is there a small craft show that you could try with complete strangers shopping about? LOL! Do not be discouraged and do not under price just to make a sale.

Edited by Noodle