Wicking TN 70/30

Was using zinc ...too much mushroom ...tooooo much smoke...too fast of a burn.

I really don't think zinc is made to go in a soy blend anyway.

Thinking of switching to HTP.

Does anyone who uses this wax have a real good outcome with a wick...or a suggestion.

I think other members will want to know type and size of jar you're using and what type of wax you're using. Also, dye or no dye?

I certainly cannot help you with wicking issues, I'm sorry; I'm a beginner and IMO wicking is the toughest thing to learn!:mad:

I have used this wax for years and find that cd wicks work the best for me. I heat the wax to 190 degrees and then add dye and fo and pour at 185. I pour into warmed jars and place in a covered box for a slow cooling. I rarely get wet spots and most fos are strong from day one. This is a great wax IMHO. I use a cd 18 in a 12 oz and 16 oz straight sided jar (Salsa). The majority of fos do just fine at 6%. You can add 1/2 to 1 tsp of coconut oil to enhance throw (some use more than that) but with this year's soy it hasn't been necessary. HTH.

Steve

Steve, what size wick should I start with when using this wax in a Libbey status jar (3.125" diameter x 4" tall)? I tried a CD8 but had lost of wax around the edge and no throw.

Would a CD 18 be appropriate for a 16oz apothecary (3.75" x 4" tall),or should I double wick the apothecary with two CD 8? I do not use dyes. Thank you!

My jars are 3.38 in diameter and the 18 burns down with some hang up at the end but the jar does not get too hot to handle. I was able to single wick a 4" diameter with a 22 but it was like a huge flame that made me uncomfortable. You'll just have to test and see. I have used LX with this wax in the past but liked the cd better. The eco does ok but it just always looks messy to my eyes. HTH.

Steve