Microwave Question

angel629c

Hi everyone! :wave: This is my first post, but I have been experimenting with melt and pour soaps for a few months now, and I am completely hooked. You all don't know how much help you have been when I am looking to find an answer about something! I couldn't find the answer to this particular question on any previous threads, so I will try my luck here...

When I make my melt and pour soaps, I use the microwave. Afterward, I mix in my fragrance oil, colors, etc. However, sometimes I am making a small batch and it begins to set up before I am finished pouring.

Question 1 - Since fragrance oils have a flashpoint, and I want to be careful with the additives I have already mixed in my soap, is it safe to put it back in the microwave for a few seconds, so I can finish pouring anything that hardens too much in my glass measuring cup?

Question 2 - If I make a bar of soap, and I dislike the design, can I "redo" it by reheating the entire bar after it is set up even if it has FO, colors, etc.? I would hate to try this without asking and have my microwave BLOW UP!!! *getdown* Thanks!

~Chrissy

Welcome to CT Chrissy!

Yes its fine to reheat your base in the microwave. Sounds like you may not be heating it hot enough if it is starting to congeal before you are finished adding your FO, dyes, etc. Use a candy thermometer and heat your base up to 135-150 degrees. You also want to make sure when adding butters like coconut oil, shea butter, etc. that the base is hot enough to melt and incorporate them.

I remelt finished soap all the time. I just cut the soap up into chunks and put them into my glass pyrex bowl and pop in the microwave. Use short bursts and stir base in between bursts and continue until completely melted.