I am a newbie

when it comes to making candles. I love to burn candles though. I recently lost my job and decided I would go into business for myself. I decided I want to make candles and market them. (after perfecting them of course)

My question to all you "experts" is, how should someone like me go about starting this? I see lots of different places to go to purchase the supplies but how do I know what is right for me?

Off to see if I can gain some knowledge about this business. I just LOVE candles!!

Best advice I can give you is to purchase a starter kit from Peaks, make sure you really have the time, energy and especially money to invest into a full blown business and don't expect to get rich quick. I'm going on 5 years and am no where close. Anyone here will tell you the same thing, also read read read read EVERYTHING on this board and study closely. We are here to help if you need it! Good luck!

Thanks for your reply. I have nothing but time right now. Once I get the sweet smells of candles in this house...I might start looking like the energier bunny on speed. :laugh2: My husband (Joe) works so money won't be an issue right now. Plus I have talked this over with him and my mother and I am very serious about doing this. They both said they would pitch in $150 each for me to get started. I am sure that could yield me enough test candles for a first time go around since I have read that votives are easier for a first timer.

In regards to testing. Just how long does one go through this process? It would probably vary, correct? Depends on how "quick" the person is to get it right everytime? Also, do I test all the candles myself or can I give them away to family and friends to be "critiqued"?

Believe me, I am not out to get rich quick. I know that building a business takes time. I only worked part time before I lost my job and If I can bring in $400 a month by doing candles, trust me, I'll be happy with that (for now anyway) ;)